In honor of one of the founders of modern cohesive sediment science and engineering, the Ray Krone award for the best paper by a young scientist has been established. The selection is made by members of the Steering Committee on the basis of scientific content, originality and presentation skills according to the following criteria:

  1. The prize is for the best presentation at the conference with the following weighting: scientific content: 2/3, presentation: 1/3.

  2. The prize can be won by first authors only (i.e. the presenter).

  3. The referees are considerate with respect to the English language in case that the presenter is a non-English native.

  4. All participants are potential candidates, except Steering Committee members and very senior scientists. These, however, may be co-author of the winning paper.

  5. The best five papers based on scientific content and the best five papers based on presentation skills are ranked with scores as follows: nr 5: 1 pt, nr 4: 2 pts, nr 3: 4 pts, nr 2: 7 pts and nr 1: 10 pts.

The separate score sheets are combined, weighed and a ranked by the chairman of the Steering Committee.

Young scientists who are willing to be considered for this award are requested to kindly mention their willingness in the abstract submission form. Relevant presentations will not be scheduled on the last day of the conference.

INTERCOH-2019 conference, Istanbul, Turkey: Kaan Koca for his oral presentation “Biostabilization of fine sediment in rivers and reservoirs: Exploring the interplay between flow, substrate and community” and to Rodrigo Mosquera for his poster presentation “Salinity estimation from Acoustic Doppler Velocimeter measurements: Using an Acoustic Doppler Velocimeter to estimate salinity in estuarine environments”.

INTERCOH-2017 conference, Montevideo, Uruguay: Megan Baker for her oral presentation “Using rheological measurements to predict the flow behaviour of cohesive sediment gravity flows” and to Roland Hesse for his poster presentation “Modelling net-deposition of cohesive sediments within the ETM”.

INTERCOH-2015 conference, Leuven, Belgium: Julia Moriarty for her oral presentation “Resuspension and sediment bed oxygen consumption: Developing and testing a coupled model” and David Todd for his poster presentation “Seasonal variations in SPM and floc characteristics in a hypertidal estuary”

INTERCOH-2013 conference, Gainesville, Florida, USA: Miguel de Lucas Pardo for the paper “Effects of diatoms on flocculation of suspended bed sediments in a large shallow lake”

INTERCOH-2011 conference, Shanghai, China: Byung Joon Lee (Hydraulics Laboratory, Department of Civil Engineering, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven) for his paper “Multi-modal particle size distribution in a coastal zone”, B.J. Lee, M. Fettweis , E. Toorman and J. Wang.

INTERCOH-2009 conference, Rio de Janeiro / Paraty, Brazil: Bram van Prooijen (Delft University of Technology, Faculty of Civil Engineering and Geosciences) for his paper “A stochastic formulation for erosion of cohesive sediments”, B. C. van Prooijen and J.C. Winterwerp.

INTERCOH-2007 conference, Brest, France: Walter Jacobs (Delft University of Technology, Faculty of Civil Engineering and Geosciences) for his paper “Erosion of artificial sand-mud mixtures”, W. Jacobs, P. Cann, P. Le Hir, and W. Van Kesteren.

INTERCOH-2005 conference, Saga, Japan: Gregor Kühn (Institute of Hydromechanics, University of Karlsruhe, Germany) for his paper “Fine sediment behavior in open channel turbulence: an experimental study”, G. Kühn and G.H. Jirka.